Hump Day Haiku – Bonifacio Day

30 Nov

Inspired by calls to poetry as an alternative to tons of rants and whines sprawled all around the internetz, I bumped into a Don’t Speak Whinese! post about something fun to do on hump days.

“What is a Haiku? It’s a Japanese poem with three lines (5 syllables, 7 syllables, 5 syllables) and is traditionally about nature. However, my Hump Day Haiku can also be called Haiku that Hurt! Or Hilarious Haiku… or err.. at least I think they are funny!”

I’m putting the Hump Day Haiku  button just on my post now, but hopefully I will have it form part of my main buttons on my 30th post, a challenge to myself to keep at it.

This is my Hump Day Haiku #3 (Dedicated to my Philippine National Hero Andres Bonifacio on his 148th Birth Anniversary Today)

Bayaning Andres

Bakasyon kami ngayon

Salamat sa’yo!

So that was a little lame. A little challenging to work the syllables using the Filipino language.

English: Picture of Filipino insurgent leader ...

Image via Wikipedia

Hump day Haiku #4 (I could go forever hahaha but let me see how this one looks like)

You wrote, you fought and

Longed for the country’s freedom

That’s real. My hero.  

So much better! Uhm, I think I’ll resist the temptation from making another one and appeal to the nationalistic spirit of fellow Filipinos to aptly honor the life and loves of this revolutionary that truly deserves a lot more than what was given to him.

2 Responses to “Hump Day Haiku – Bonifacio Day”

  1. Laurie Wade December 1, 2011 at 12:53 am #

    Have fun Haikuing!

  2. LodRose December 1, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    Thanks Laurie – I am having fun, getting tempted to make a separate page for these haikus entirely.

Leave a Reply

