Hump Day Haiku (The Beginning)

9 Nov

Inspired by calls to poetry as an alternative to tons of rants and whines sprawled all around the internetz, I bumped into a Don’t Speak Whinese! post about something fun to do on hump days.

“What is a Haiku? It’s a Japanese poem with three lines (5 syllables, 7 syllables, 5 syllables) and is traditionally about nature. However, my Hump Day Haiku can also be called Haiku that Hurt! Or Hilarious Haiku… or err.. at least I think they are funny!”

I’m putting the Hump Day Haiku  button just on my post now, but hopefully I will have it form part of my main buttons on my 30th post, a challenge to myself to keep at it.

Did I tell you that I am a published poet when I was in elementary school?  Nothing grandiose, it’s this little long poem about writing a poem published on our public elementary school paper (I’m trying to secure a copy). I didn’t really pursue the craft, and except for Wheel of Time, Robert Heinlein and my other favorite books, I never did like long reads and finish by skimming.

So here goes:

Sky’s a mystery –

Blue yellow orange red gray

Just like a mood ring.

2 Responses to “Hump Day Haiku (The Beginning)”

  1. mickey November 10, 2011 at 4:02 am #

    That is one pearl of a poem . . . motivates me as a poet

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Haiku: Friends Friday « Haiku 365 - January 6, 2012

    […] Hump Day Haiku (The Beginning) (lodrose.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Tags: art, Haiku, Japanese poetry, Pennsylvania, Poetry, Writing […]

Leave a Reply

