A Call For Civility + My Happiness Plan

10 Feb

The most outstanding comment I heard on the wake of Angelo Reyes’ death was from an old-time crush pretty boy (well, his hair is all while now, I guess “boy” is no longer appropriate) Rafael Alunan III calling for civility.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia:Civility

The past few days have been heartbreaking for most of us not only in the Philippines, but for the rest of the world as well.  We are all confused with what’s happening and who to side with and how to move forward from all this sadness.

I take a step back and check my approach and methods for communication and calls to action due to some personal conflicts I have had faced head on and resolved in full recently.  Yes, I have resorted to crass or harsh wordings and musings, even be super passionate on tone and context as I share the emotion of frustration or disappointment.  But only as a last resort – only at the time I felt I have no other recourse but to lash back as my wounds do not have a chance to heal if I don’t get the space to breathe.  I was seeking air.  But I do realize, all these may have stemmed from a lack of civility from both sides.  Most likely, stemmed from a high sense of self-righteous personal pride.

Well anyways, before I go into further babbling, I will keep in mind of Raffy Alunan’s call for civility to keep each other’s dignity intact.  Maybe if we all do, people will not feel so low that they need to go corrupt to keep up with the condescending and patronizing rich people.  Suicides need not happen, political turmoil can be avoided, rallies or political disobedience unnecessary.

Sure, you may say this piece as too naive and the author continues to stay in her idealistic bubble.  But hey, this floats my boat.  I’m still here full of dreams and living my life in full like a fool.  Of course I have my troubles, but overall I’m happy with how things are going.  And you sir, how’s your life?

Love & Light!

My Happiness Plan and Operating Guidelines:

1. Find and follow your purpose.

2. Participate as frequent as humanly possible.

3. Contribute by commenting/suggesting/granting a wish/EPALizing like there’s no tomorrow – we needed whatever you’re tasked to do two weeks ago!

4. Communicate – please set mutual expecations straight.  It’s a safe environment here with no judgment (just snide remarks).  If you sit on a task not having an idea how to do it or need help on completing it, just ask because our pool is huge.  If you don’t, we’ll assume you got what it takes.

5.  Take ownership of your assignment by heart & soul (IKARIR) – If your deliverable blows and negatively impacts other tasks needed to keep this machine running like clockwork, we will shoot you like hell and worse, we’ll blog and/or facebook and/or tweet about it with your photo and contact info (maybe).

One Response to “A Call For Civility + My Happiness Plan”

  1. Ari Bancale April 29, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

    A sobering post. I salute your two-pronged strategy: first is basically an acceptance of reality and a nudge towards neutrality, second is a positive move towards the solution. In this newly born Relationship Era, fear, hate and anger are futile tools for change. If we want a revolution, we need compassion, trust and, most importantly, happiness. Individual unconditional happiness.

    Game on! I found your blog from Gameful. Come back, play and let’s start to save the world. 🙂

Leave a Reply

